MINUTES OF THE ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING OF APRIL 27, 2023

On April 27, 2023, the Board of Trustees of Community College District 507, in the Counties of Vermilion, Edgar, Iroquois, Champaign, and Ford in the State of Illinois, met in regular session in the Board Room, Vermilion Hall Room 302, at Danville Area Community College.

ITEM 1: CALL TO ORDER

Chairman Harby called the meeting to order at 5:15 p.m.

ITEM 2: ROLL CALL

The roll was called. Trustees present: Sandra Finch, Dave Harby, Terry Hill, and Greg Wolfe. Trustees absent: Tracy Cherry and Dylan Haun (Mr. Haun arrived at 5:20 p.m.).

Others present: President Dr. Stephen Nacco, Board Secretary Kerri Thurman, Dr. Carl Bridges, Tammy Betancourt, Jill Cranmore, Lara Conklin, Jerry Davis, Maruti Seth, Mark Barnes, and Decarlo Flagg.

Media present: None.

ITEM 3: ADOPTION OF AGENDA

Mr. Harby asked if there were any changes requested to the agenda. With no changes requested, upon motion by Mr. Wolfe, and a second by Ms. Finch, the agenda was approved as presented. The motion passed by unanimous voice vote: 4 yeas, 0 nays.

ITEM 4: PUBLIC COMMENT

There was no public comment.

TITEM 5: BOARD CONSIDERATION OF DOCUMENTS OF APRIL 4, 2023 CONSOLIDATED ELECTION FOR COMMUNITY COLLEGE

DISTRICT NO. 507 TRUSTEES

A. APPROVAL OF CERTIFICATION OF RESULTS OF ELECTION

Upon motion by Ms. Finch, and a second by Mr. Hill, the Board approved the Certification of Results of Election submitted by Cathy Jenkins, Vermilion County Clerk, showing vote totals of 6,884 for David W. Harby; 5,552 for Maruti Seth; and 7,031 for Terry T. Hill. The motion passed by roll call vote: 5 yeas, 0 nays.

B. ADOPTION OF RESOLUTION DECLARING RESULTS OF ELECTION

Upon motion by Mr. Wolfe, and a second by Ms. Finch, the Board adopted the resolution declaring the results of the election naming David W. Harby, Terry T. Hill, and Maruti Seth as winners of the election. The motion passed by roll call vote: 5 yeas, 0 nays.

ITEM 6: OATH OF OFFICE ADMINISTERED TO NEWLY ELECTED MEMBERS

Mr. Wolfe administered the Oath of Office to Mr. Harby, Mr. Hill, and Mr. Seth.

ITEM 7: ADJOURNMENT OF BOARD SINE DIE

Mr. Harby adjourned the Board sine die.

ITEM 8: ROLL CALL – REORGANIZED BOARD

Roll was called. Trustees present: Sandra Finch, Dave Harby, Dylan Haun, Terry Hill, Maruti Seth, and Greg Wolfe. Trustee absent: Tracy Cherry.

ITEM 9: APPOINTMENT OF TEMPORARY CHAIRPERSON

Upon motion by Mr. Wolfe, and a second by Mr. Seth, Mr. Dave Harby was appointed as temporary chairperson. The motion passed by roll call vote: 5 yeas, 0 nays.

ITEM 10: APPOINTMENT OF TEMPORARY SECRETARY

Upon motion by Mr. Wolfe, and a second by Ms. Finch, Ms. Kerri Thurman was appointed as temporary secretary. The motion passed by roll call vote: 5 yeas, 0 nays.

ITEM 11: ELECTION OF OFFICERS AND APPOINTMENTS A. ELECTION OF CHAIR

A motion was made by Mr. Wolfe to nominate Mr. Harby as Chair. The motion was seconded by Ms. Finch and passed by roll call vote: 5 yeas, 0 nays.

B. ELECTION OF VICE CHAIR

A motion was made by Mr. Hill to nominate Mr. Wolfe as Vice Chair. The motion was seconded by Ms. Finch and passed by roll call vote: 5 yeas, 0 nays.

C. ELECTION OF SECRETARY

A motion was made by Mr. Wolfe to nominate Kerri Thurman as Board Secretary. The motion was seconded by Ms. Finch and passed by roll call vote: 5 yeas, 0 nays.

D. APPOINTMENT OF ICCTA REPRESENTATIVE

A motion was made by Mr. Hill to appoint Mr. Wolfe as the ICCTA Representative. The motion was seconded by Ms. Finch and passed by roll call vote: 5 yeas, 0 nays.

E. APPOINTMENT OF ICCTA ALTERNATE REPRESENTATIVE

A motion was made by Mr. Wolfe to appoint Mr. Hill as the ICCTA Alternate Representative. The motion was seconded by Mrs. Finch and passed by roll call vote: 6 yeas, 0 nays.

F. APPOINTMENT OF BOARD ATTORNEYS

Upon motion by Mr. Wolfe, and a second by Ms. Finch, the Board appointed the law firm of Jerry Davis Law, P.C. to serve as legal counsel for the DACC Board of Trustees and the College. The motion passed by roll call vote: 6 yeas, 0 nays.

G. APPOINTMENT OF COLLEGE TREASURER

Upon motion by Mr. Wolfe, and a second by Ms. Finch, the Board appointed Tammy Betancourt as the College Treasurer until the next reorganizational meeting of the Board. The motion passed by roll call vote: 6 yeas, 0 nays.

ITEM 12: BOARD CONSIDERATION OF SETTING DATE, TIME, AND PLACE OF MEETINGS

Upon motion by Mr. Wolfe, and a second by Mr. Hill, the Board approved the setting of the date, time and place of meetings until the next reorganizational meeting. The motion passed by roll call vote: 6 yeas, 0 nays.

Regular meetings will take place on the fourth Thursday of each month in Vermilion Hall Room 302 with the following exceptions, which will be held on the third Thursday: July 20, 2023; August 17, 2023; November 16, 2023; December 21, 2023; July 18, 2024; November 21, 2024; and December 19, 2024. Meetings will begin at 5:30 p.m.

ITEM 13: BOARD CONSIDERATION OF ADOPTING ALL EXISTING POLICIES

Upon motion by Mr. Wolfe, and a second by Mr. Hill, the Board adopted all existing policies. The motion passed by roll call vote: 6 yeas, 0 nays.

ITEM 14: ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business to discuss, Mr. Harby adjourned the meeting at 5:25 p.m.

Chairperson, Board of Trustees	
Secretary, Board of Trustees	